With 574 million users tuning in to Spotify every month in Q3 2023, the platform has seen a 26% year-over-year increase, making it a promising medium for running ads. However, executing an ad campaign on Spotify isn’t enough — you need to regularly track best Spotify Ads KPIs to ensure whether your audience is grooving to your marketing jingles.
These Spotify ad analytics give you juicy insights about the effectiveness of your ad campaigns. As a result, businesses can understand factors like audience engagement, conversion rates, and brand awareness on the go. In this guide, we’ll tell you the best Spotify Ads KPIs to track, helping you fine-tune your strategies and optimize ad spending.
Accompanying the listening experience on the platform, Spotify ads are designed to fit seamlessly between songs, podcasts, and playlists without breaking the user’s flow. These ads usually last for either 15 or 30 seconds and can be in audio or video format. While audio ads find their way between songs, podcast ads play during breaks between broadcasts.
Video ads, on the other hand, are like full-screen displays that show up on the screen between songs or as skippable ads. These ads are strategically placed to engage users without bugging them, thanks to Spotify’s targeting features that use first-party cookies to tailor ads.
Such an approach helps the platform connect with users during their daily routines and social settings, aligning the messaging with their emotions, activities, and mental states. For example, a coffee brand could target users during their tiring morning commute when they’re on the search for a pick-me-up to start their day.
Similarly, a snack brand might advertise during the evening hours, and wellness brands may find their prime window in the ‘Workout’ mood, advertising energy bars or sports drinks.
When tracking the effectiveness of your Spotify ads, the first Spotify Ads KPIs you should measure are reach and impressions. These metrics give valuable insights into the frequency and extent of ad exposure, helping advertisers tweak their targeting strategies for future campaigns. By looking at the number of times viewers tune into Spotify ads, advertisers learn more about the streaming habits of their audience.
Reach is the total number of individuals who hear or see your content at least once. Segmented by demographics like gender, age, device type, location, and more, this metric helps you optimize your marketing efforts to reach the right audience at the right time. Impressions, on the other hand, measure the number of times an ad is displayed, regardless of whether the same person sees it multiple times.
For instance, if an ad is displayed 2000 times and 700 people click on it, the reach would be 700, and impressions would be 2000. On average, a $250 Spotify campaign usually gets between 10,000 and 16,667 impressions, with an individual ad impression cost of $0.015 to $0.025.
Conversions measure the percentage of listeners who took a desired action, like signing up for a trial or making a purchase, after hearing the ad. Helping businesses understand their return on investment (ROI) better, conversions include everything from webpage visits to newsletter signups.
The conversion rate, thus, helps brands analyze which ads resonate better with the target audience and which ones are skipped outrightly. It also helps you measure the performance of different ad lengths, call-to-actions, and content styles in converting users. On average, Spotify ads have a conversion rate of 0.5%, indicating that five people click the banner for every 1,000 ad impressions.
If your campaign has a below-average conversion rate, here are a few ways to fix it:
As one of the best Spotify Ads KPIs to measure when running ads, brand lift tells you more about how successful your content is in building awareness and recall among the masses. When a campaign launches on Spotify, the platform randomly assigns listeners to either a test segment, which is exposed to the ads, or a control segment, which is not.
Then, the app surveys these segments in the Spotify app, usually after 48 hours of exposure (or non-exposure) to the ads — any differences between the responses can be attributed to the impact of the ads. Consisting of three questions, this survey in the Spotify ad studio helps businesses understand how well their ad campaigns are performing, answering questions like:
As a result, these insights help you analyze Spotify success metrics, like favorability, awareness, and purchase intent in both the test and control segments.
Indicating the number of ads served that were played to the end, the audio completion rate is one of the most crucial Spotify Ads KPIs to measure the performance of your ads. In simple terms, this Spotify measurement tool shows how many listeners heard the entire ad without skipping or pausing it midway.
As a result, this metric helps advertisers understand whether their ads are short and sweet enough to keep their readers tuned in until the end. A high completion rate means that the ad resonates well with the target audience and conveys its message effectively, and vice versa. By knowing how many listeners are actually sticking with the ad, advertisers can assess whether their ad spend is bringing in the desired outcomes (brand recall, conversions, purchases).
If you want your listeners to read until the last letter, here are a few strategies:
Click-through rate (CTR) denotes the number of users who click on an ad compared to the total number of times it was displayed. Particularly beneficial for banner ads on Spotify, such Spotify ads KPIs give you valuable insights into the performance of your ad campaigns. To calculate the CTR of an ad, all you need to do is divide the number of clicks on an advert by the number of impressions, and you’re good to go.
On average, the Spotify ad benchmarks for click-through rate fall between 0.3% to 0.5% — for every 1,000 people who see an ad, 3-5 should click on the banner (given that you have the right blend of messaging, CTA, and targeting).
As one of the best Spotify success metrics, the CTR is a must-have in any digital marketing report, as it tells you how your audience responds and resonates with your content. By conducting A/B testing, this KPI also helps advertisers learn which marketing campaigns perform well with the target audience, refining future strategies.
Cost per acquisition (CPA) is one of the most valuable best Spotify Ads KPIs for measuring the effectiveness of ad campaigns on the platform. This metric tracks the cost incurred to get a single desired action, such as a new user sign-up, premium subscription, or app download. To calculate the CPA of an ad campaign, all you need to do is divide the total cost of an ad by the number of desired actions it gains.
For instance, if a Spotify campaign costs $200 and helps you gain 20 new premium subscriptions, the CPA would be $10 per subscription ($200 divided by $20). As a result, this metric helps advertisers measure the cost-effectiveness of their campaigns by tracking how promising their efforts are in attracting new customers.
Standing head and shoulders above traditional marketing platforms, Spotify ads offer a promising medium to reach all those potential customers during their screenless moments. Thanks to its extensive user base and targeted advertising options, businesses can connect with their desired demographics right where they are (office desk, kitchen table, or the traffic).
However, manually extracting the best Spotify Ads KPIs to monitor the performance of your ads is not an easy task — it’s time-consuming, prone to errors, and not as efficient. This is where Catchr comes in, a comprehensive solution that handles all the legwork, delivering actionable insights into your Spotify ad campaigns by streamlining the data extraction process.
With data-driven dashboards and an intuitive interface, Catchr filters information to create custom fields, helping marketers focus on the metrics that matter. Plus, the platform integrates with Looker Studio, Tableau, and Power BI, ensuring that data stays up-to-date and readily accessible for reporting and analysis purposes.