blog post

The Twitter Ads KPIs to Look Out For

Florian Cabirol
February 24, 2024
| Lastest update
March 8, 2024
The Twitter Ads KPIs to Look Out For

Quick steps to create a X / Twitter Ads report with Google Sheets:

You can easiliy create a X / Twitter Ads report following this step :

  1. Get informations from the data integration from our X / Twitter Ads connector.
  2. Create a source on catchr.io.
  3. Download our Google Sheets extensions.
  4. Configure and run your request
If you need more informations, you can follow the tutorial.

How to install Google Sheets Catchr Add-on.

To start exporting your X / Twitter Ads data to Google Sheets, you need to install the Catchr add-on. You currently have two options :

Option A: Via the marketplace:

  1. Visit the Catchr Add-on page on the Google Workspace Marketplace and click "Install."
  2. Grant the necessary permissions for the add-on.
  3. Upon successful installation, open a Google Sheets to proceed.
Connect Google Sheet to Facebook Ads
Install Catchr Google Sheets Add-on

Option B: Directly within a Google Sheets:

  1. Open a new Google Sheets.
  2. In the top menu, click "Extensions", then hover over "Add-ons" and select "Get add-ons."
  3. Search for "Catchr" and choose "Catchr - data connector."
  4. Click "Install" and grant the required permissions.
  5. Close the installation pop-up when completed.
  6. Start using the Catchr add-on.
Install Catchr Add-on for Google Sheets
Install Catchr Add-on for Google Sheets

Once you have installed the add-on, you can start making requests.

The tutorial

Quick steps to create a X / Twitter Ads report with Looker Studio:

You can easiliy create a X / Twitter Ads report following this step :

  1. Get informations from the data integration from our X / Twitter Ads connector.
  2. Create a datasource and new report on Looker Studio.
  3. Choose your metrics and dimensions.
  4. Use charts with your metrics and dimensions.
If you need more informations, you can follow the tutorial. You can also find a template for X / Twitter Ads at the end of the page.

The tutorial

Quick steps to create a X / Twitter Ads report with PowerBI:

You can easiliy create a X / Twitter Ads report following this step :

  1. Get informations from the data integration from our X / Twitter Ads connector.
  2. Create a source on catchr.io.
  3. Configure your request on the PowerBI request manager.
  4. Copy the given URL in PowerBI
If you need more informations, you can follow the tutorial. You can also find a template for X / Twitter Ads at the end of the page.

The tutorial

X (formerly Twitter) is one of the world's leading social media platforms, with 556 million active users. It also hit 6.14 billion monthly visits in October 2023, showing its immense outreach. As a business owner, this popularity represents an opportunity for you to reach out to your audiences and impact their decisions through Twitter ads.

It is an excellent medium for building long-lasting relationships and driving traffic to your web platform. However, it's critical to regularly monitor and analyze your Twitter ad analytics to know what works and what doesn't. With so many of them thrown around, knowing which Twitter ads KPIs you should be tracking is tremendously important.

This guide will help you overcome that problem by exploring the best Twitter ads KPIs and improving the outcomes of your data-driven digital marketing efforts.

What are KPIs and Why do they Matter? 

KPI stands for Key Performance Indicator, a quantitative measurement that shows how your marketing efforts are performing and the progress you're making toward specific goals. Today, KPIs matter more than ever, as businesses rely on data to make critical decisions. As a result, companies can change their course if a particular approach isn't working and compare the performance of their Twitter ad benchmarks against competitors.

Best Twitter Ads KPIs to Track 

Click-through Rate (CTR)

Click-through rate is one of the best Twitter ads KPIs, as it tells how often people click on your ads. As a result, a business learns how effective its ads are. If you get a high click-through rate for a particular ad, it means users are more interested in that product or service. 

On the other hand, a low click-through rate can indicate two things: either the ad isn't crafted well enough to create the desired impact, or users just aren't interested in that particular product or service. It's important to note that the average Twitter ad CTR is 0.86%, and if you hit the 1% mark, you're already doing better than many.

Engagement Rate 

Engagement rate simply measures how much users engage with your ad content on Twitter. It is among the best Twitter ads KPIs because it shows whether your campaign creates the desired impact. The engagement rate can be measured through retweets, clicks, replies, and favorites. A high engagement rate tells you that your ads are well-designed to the point where users notice them.

A low engagement rate means you must do better and probably collaborate with influencers and celebrities. Since Twitter is a microblogging platform, you will get some attention once you set the ball rolling and people start talking about you.

Impressions 

Impressions are the views your ads get on Twitter over a certain period. Although it's a relatively essential measure, it tells you how your ad campaign is performing immediately. However, it doesn't tell whether the target audience has clicked on your ads.

If you get many impressions, your ads are well-optimized since Twitter shows ads based on behavior, previous searches, and overall persona. It is crucial to mention that if a user sees the same ad twice, Twitter ads data counts it as two impressions, not one.

For instance, if you launch an ad on Twitter about your new shoes. If 500 users see it twice on their timelines, you'll see 1,000 impressions. Twitter impressions include ads in search results, hashtag feeds, and third-party platforms where Twitter content is embedded.

Conversion Rate 

Knowing how many people have seen your ads isn't enough; you also need to know how many have clicked on them. That's where the conversion rate comes in, which tells you how many have performed a desired action after seeing your ads. Every business tries to bring customers from social media to their website for sign-ups and purchases, and the conversion rate shows you how successful you are.

Conversion rates can be calculated by dividing the number of conversions by the number of visitors and multiplying the resulting number by 100. Here is the formula for calculating Twitter's conversion rate:

Conversion Rate = (Number of Conversions / Number of Visitors × 100) %

Here's a pertinent example:

If your website has 100 visitors and 5 of them make a purchase, the conversion rate using the above formula will be:

CR = (5 / 100 × 100) %

CR = 5% 

You'll get one of the best Twitter ads KPIs conversion rates among all social media platforms, making it an attractive option for several businesses.

Cost Per Lead 

If you're thinking about how much you spend to generate leads, cost per lead is the metric you should focus on. It can vary due to several factors, such as the ad type, the competition level, and the audience you're targeting with a particular ad. Tracking this metric helps a business determine the cost per lead to try to lower it in the future.

Here is a simple formula to calculate your cost per lead (CPL):

CPL = (Total spending on the ad campaign / Total new leads) $

For instance, if your total ad spending was $100, and your ads generated 10 leads, here's the cost per lead:

CPL = (100 / 10) $

CPL = 10$ 

The lower the CPL, the better, as you spend a small amount on a single lead. If you notice your CPL rising, it's a cause for concern, and if it rises too high, the leads might not even be worth it. Therefore, it's also crucial to pay attention to the lead quality while you're observing cost per lead. Sometimes, the cost per lead is low, but the lead quality isn't very satisfactory either.

Estimated Costs 

Estimated costs tell you about the money you spend to create and post one ad on Twitter. Your goal should be to spend a small amount and generate as many leads as possible. While a business advertises on multiple social media platforms, it's important to determine the chunk of budget your Twitter ad campaign will consume.

Once you understand how much you should spend on Twitter, you can determine the amount spent on other platforms and make an informed budget. However, the advertising costs on Twitter keep changing, so it's important to keep an eye on the updates and modify your budget accordingly.

Hashtag Performance 

Hashtag performance is one of the best Twitter ads KPIs that can help you determine the success of your ad campaign. As you know, hashtags are what complete your story on Twitter. Without them, your content stays bland and doesn't get the traction it deserves.

Your hashtags should reflect your brand's values, mission, and goals. They should be relevant to your niche and tell the audience what you stand for. When you measure the success of your hashtags, you're calculating how much they have contributed to your recognition and how some of them could become your brand trademarks.

Make separate lists for the best-performing and underperforming hashtags. Keep those that perform well, analyze the lackluster ones, and see if you can improve them. If they don't show any improvements, it's time to discard them and bring in new hashtags.

Follower Metrics 

Another on the list of the best Twitter ads KPIs you must keep an eye on is the number of your followers. Although it's not the most important number on this list, it is still a decent indicator of how your content is performing on Twitter. Having thousands and millions of followers on Twitter sounds excellent, but that doesn't always translate to leads and sales.

There are many Twitter accounts with massive followings but lackluster engagement. So, you shouldn't fall into the same trap where your followers are ballooning, but your posts don't attract people. It's better to have a small number of engaged followers than a large audience that's not interested in what you're saying.

Video Views 

A picture is worth a thousand words, but nowadays, videos are also one of the best Twitter ads KPIs to track. You can see how many people have watched your videos on Twitter's native analytics app. Since TikTok and YouTube have amassed a massive following, Twitter has brought important changes to its platform to promote video-based content.

Twitter has detailed video analytics that tell you much about your video content. The platform counts a view when a user plays 50% of the video on their screen for over 2 seconds. However, the credibility of this metric has often been questioned because seeing 50% of the video displayed on the screen means that the user might have yet to watch the video. 

Twitter offers metrics like 25%, 50%, 75%, and 100% video length to counter this issue. Here, Twitter provides a video retention rate that tells you how much of your video the audience has seen. By checking this metric regularly, you can tweak your video ads strategy and make your content more appealing.

Keep Track of Twitter Ads KPIs with Catchr 

It's not enough to know the most important Twitter ads KPIs; it's also crucial to keep track of them. But how do you manage to track so many KPIs? That's where Catchr comes in. We creatively extract your Twitter ads KPIs and tell you how your ad campaign is performing without you having to write a single line of code. 

We transform your Twitter ads key metrics into visually appealing dashboards that help you instantly check your Twitter marketing campaigns. Connecting with the Google Looker Studio lets you interact with a dynamic dashboard that is updated regularly.

But it's not just Google Looker Studio that Catchr uses to transform your data. We also let you connect your data to PowerBI, Tableau, Google Sheets, and Microsoft Excel. So, what are you waiting for? Contact us today and kickstart a transformative Twitter ad campaign.

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In this X / Twitter Ads template, you will find all the metrics and dimensions you would need to get a better view of your data.

If you need more templates, you could look at our looker studio template gallery.

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If you need more templates, you could look at our PowerBI template gallery.

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